What is the Sec. 8 Homeownership Program?
What are the eligibility requirements?
What are the participation requirements?
Is there a waiting list & how do I apply?
What is the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program?
How is eligibility determined?
How do I apply?
How are Housing Vouchers Used?

What is the Sec. 8 Homeownership Program?

In November 2002, the Inglewood Housing Authority implemented the Homeownership Option as a part of the Housing Choice Voucher Program. The program is offered to assist low-income families, senior citizens, veterans, and people with disabilities in transitioning from rental assistance to homeownership. Instead of renting, the participants will use their voucher subsidy to meet monthly homeowner expenses with an eventual goal of ownership of the property. (The program does not supply down payment assistance). Eligible applicants must meet all of the eligibility and participation requirements as set forth by HUD and the IHA. Program participation is strictly voluntary.

What are the eligibility requirements? (Top)

The applicant must:

  • be a participant of the IHA Sec. 8 program;

  • have completed at least one year on the Sec. 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program;

  • be a first-time homebuyer;

  • be currently employed and working at least 30 hours a week;

  • employed, at least, for the past year;

  • have a minimum income (salary) of at least $10,300/year (Federal minimum wage x 2000) (excluding     assistance);

  • not owe a debt to any Housing Authority;

  • be in good standing with the current Housing Authority;

  • not have defaulted on a mortgage or Federal Student Loan.

Note: Senior citizens and disabled persons are exempt from the income and employment requirements.

What are the participation requirements? (Top)

The participant must:

  • Sign a Homeownership Contract of Participation;

  • Attend orientation - sign all program documents;

  • Complete a Homebuyer Counseling course (and post-counseling, if applicable);

  • Locate a home to purchase in the City of Inglewood;

  • Obtain financing for a mortgage loan;

  • Inspections

    • Housing Quality Standards (HQS) inspection

    • Independent Inspection (hired and paid for by the participant);

  • Execute a sales contract;

  • Obtain Homeowners Insurance;

  • Close escrow;

  • Make timely homeowner expense payments;

  • Attend annual certification appointments with IHA.

Is there a waiting list & how do I apply? (Top)

There is no waiting list for the Homeownership Program.  Please contact the Inglewood Housing Authority (IHA) to request an application.

What is the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program? (Top)

The Housing Choice Voucher program is the Federal Governments major program for assisting very low income families, the elderly and the disabled to afford decent, safe and sanitary housing that meets the requirements of the program and is not limited to units located in subsidized housing.

How is eligibility determined?

Eligibility for a housing voucher is based on the total annual gross income and family size and is limited to U.S. citizens and specified categories of non-citizens who have eligible immigration status. In general, the family’s income may not exceed 50% of the median income for the Los Angeles County area. By law, we must provide 75% of our vouchers to applicants whose incomes do not exceed 30% of the area median income.

How do I apply?

Prospective families must first register their names on a waiting list. Waiting lists are open only at certain specified times, and families can only register during the open enrollment period. Open enrollment is announced through newspaper advertisements. The demand for housing assistance exceeds the limited resources available and long waiting periods are common.

How are Housing Vouchers Used?

Once you receive a voucher, you are advised of the unit size for which you are eligible, based on family size and composition. It is your responsibility to select a unit that meets an acceptable level of health and safety before the Inglewood Housing Authority (IHA) can approve the unit.

The IHA determines a “payment standard” that is the amount generally needed to rent a dwelling unit in the local housing market. This payment standard is used to determine the amount of housing assistance the family will receive. A family may select a unit with a rent above or below the payment standard. The family must pay 30% of its monthly adjusted household income for rent and utilities. If the unit rent is greater than the payment standard, the family must pay the additional amount.

By law, when ever a family moves to a new unit where the rent exceeds the payment standard, the family may not pay more than 40% of its adjusted monthly income for rent.