How are Housing Vouchers Used?
Once you receive a voucher, you are advised of the unit size for which you are eligible, based on family size and composition. It is your responsibility to select a unit that meets an acceptable level of health and safety before the Inglewood Housing Authority (IHA) can approve the unit.

The IHA determines a “payment standard” that is the amount generally needed to rent a dwelling unit in the local housing market. This payment standard is used to determine the amount of housing assistance the family will receive. A family may select a unit with a rent above or below the payment standard. The family must pay 30% of its monthly adjusted household income for rent and utilities. If the unit rent is greater than the payment standard, the family must pay the additional amount.

By law, when ever a family moves to a new unit where the rent exceeds the payment standard, the family may not pay more than 40% of its adjusted monthly income for rent.

Show All Answers

1. What is the Section 8 Homeownership Program?
2. What are the eligibility requirements?
3. What are the participation requirements?
4. Is there a waiting list & how do I apply?
5. What is the Section 8 Housing Choice Voucher Program?
6. How is eligibility determined?
7. How do I apply?
8. How are Housing Vouchers Used?
9. What is the number for Section 8 Housing Assistance?